In Vermont, driving while intoxicated is a serious crime and is punishable by severe penalties. The criminal court isn’t the only way that drivers are punished for the offense. The Department of Motor Vehicles can impose penalties based on the total number of previous convictions. DWI lawyers in Burlington, VT provide an explanation of the penalties.
Who Is Guilty of a DWI?
Any driver who has been drinking alcohol and has a blood alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent is guilty of a DWI. However, the blood alcohol content reading for drivers under twenty-one is 0.02 percent. Commercial drivers are guilty with a blood alcohol content reading of 0.04 percent.
What Are the Penalties for the First Offense?
The administrative penalties start with a ninety-day license suspension. All drivers must pay a fee of $82 to reinstate their license and pay $32 for a written exam as well as $19 for the road test. If the court provides a restricted license, the driver has to pay $125 for the new license. Additionally, the driver faces a $200 fee for an alcohol assessment and another $250 for an alcohol education program.
The criminal penalties for the DWI offense include a fine of $750 and a two-year prison sentence. The driver’s license is suspended for ninety days.
What Are the Penalties for a Second Conviction?
The administrative penalties for the second conviction are the same as the first. However, the license suspension is increased to eighteen months. Next, the criminal penalties start with a fine of $1,500 and a prison sentence of two years. The individual must perform at least two hundred hours of community service or an additional sixty hours in jail. The driver’s license is suspended for eighteen months through criminal court as well.
What Penalties Apply in a Third Conviction?
All of the same administrative penalties apply in addition to a lifetime driver’s license suspension. The criminal penalties for the third conviction include a fine of $2,500 and five years in prison. The criminal court revokes the driver’s license indefinitely.
In Vermont, driving while intoxicated charges are based on the blood alcohol content reading for the driver. The total number of convictions plays a role in what penalties apply as well. Criminal defendants facing the charges can contact Jason J. Sawyer, Attorney & Counselor at Law to hire DWI lawyers in Burlington, VT now.